Book Review: Infinity Lost

InfinityLostReview

Premise: The teenage daughter of a mysterious technology tycoon experiences dreams that suggest her past is not what she remembers.

For fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, Divergent, and The Star Dwellers  

As a reader, I follow YA lit from a distance, occasionally picking up a suggestion from Amazon or a Goodreads “best of” list for the sake of unadulterated entertainment and relaxation. Infinity Lost is a promising twist on the roaring YA sci-fi/ dystopian genre. The premise had me hooked: dissident teenage heroines, Big-Brother-like mega corporations, abstruse dream sequences – who wouldn’t be curious?

Continue reading “Book Review: Infinity Lost”

Newton’s Third Law and Your Novel

Reactive Scene

Stories are a chain of events, and each event, or scene, evokes the next. It’s easy to imagine a sequential yarn of happenings: This occurs, followed by this, and this, and so on. But what about the space in between the toppling dominos? In reality, an event can happen in the course of one or two sentences. The space between these events is equally important. Consider the following:

Continue reading “Newton’s Third Law and Your Novel”